RSS Feed

Gluten-free Chocolate Cupcakes with Coconut Whipped Cream

Posted on

This is a recipe that began with me looking into my cupboard and realizing that I had a whole bag of chickpea flour that I had inherited from a friend and had no idea what to do with. The recipe on the back of the bag was for meatballs, but I, being me, naturally wanted to know what I could bake with it. So I googled “baking with chickpea flour” and what should come up but this recipe for chocolate cupcakes from my favorite cupcake blogger? It seemed perfect.

Classic chocolate cake is certainly a traditional recipe in my family. My dad, though he is obviously not one of my grandmothers, is quite a skilled baker and regularly provided my nuclear family with desserts growing up. He kept our cookie jar full of Dad ‘n’ Honey cookies (oatmeal chocolate chip), could frequently be found making chocolate-peanut butter no-bake cookies on the stovetop, and once in a while just needed to satisfy a hankering for a chocolate cake. With a dollop of vanilla ice cream and a glass of milk, it was perfect.

These cupcakes fill the same need for an intense chocolate flavor, with the added bonus of helping me learn what I can do with chickpea flour, and being in the form of cupcakes which in my opinion automatically makes anything more delicious. I basically followed the Cupcake Project recipe for the cupcakes themselves. However, I wasn’t ready to commit to making the chocolate hummus frosting, so instead I made a basic whipped cream to complement the extremely light texture of the cupcakes. I dusted some coconut on top for decoration and an extra touch of flavor.

I can picture my dad making a face at the words “gluten free,” but I think that if I didn’t tell him these weren’t regular chocolate cupcakes, he would never know! I actually really like the chickpea flour, which has a sort of nuttiness that gives the chocolate flavor more depth.

The Original

Basic chocolate cake – usually from a mix – with storebought chocolate frosting.

The Reinterpretation

Gluten-free chocolate cupcakes, made with chickpea flour, with whipped cream and a dusting of shredded coconut.

Ingredients:

2 3/4 cups chickpea flour, sifted well

1 3/4 cups sugar

3/4 cups cocoa powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla

1/2 cup olive oil

1 cup whole milk

1 cup boiling water

For frosting:

1 pint heavy whipping cream

1/2 cup powdered sugar (or to taste)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a cupcake tin – I would highly suggest using cupcake liners with these cupcakes, because they’re so light that it’s difficult to get them out of the pan without breaking them.

2.  Mix dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.

3. Add eggs, vanilla, olive oil, and milk until just combined.

4. Mix in boiling water. The result will be a very liquidy batter.

IMG_0417

Very liquidy

5. Fill cupcake liners halfway. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes, or until top bounces back when lightly touched.

IMG_0415

Batter-filled cupcake tin

IMG_0418

Almost-finished cupcakes!

6. Remove from oven, allow to cool slightly, then remove from pan and cool on wire racks.

7.  While cupcakes cool, pour heavy whipping cream into large mixing bowl. Beat on medium speed until cream starts to thicken. Add powdered sugar gradually, to taste. Beat in vanilla. Continue beating until cream achieves desired whipped cream consistency.

8. When cupcakes are completely cool, frost with whipped cream – either spreading or with a pastry bag – and dust tops with shredded coconut. Enjoy!

IMG_0419

The final product!

IMG_0420

Close-up of the coconut

One response »

  1. Pingback: “Mom ‘n’ Honey’s” Oatmeal-Raisin Muffins with Almond-flour Streusel | My Grandmother's Pantry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

